Municipal Government

City Commission/Manager

With this form of home-rule, cities operate with a city commission as a policy body and a city manager as the chief executive-administrative officer of city government.

In the commission-manager form of government, the commission is the governing body of the city elected by the public, and the manager is hired by commission to carry out the policies it establishes. The  St. Augustine City Commission consists of five members including a mayor who is elected by the electorate.  The vice mayor is elected by the commission.  The mayor/commissioners are all at-large and the election is nonpartisan. 

The commission provides legislative direction while the city manager is responsible for day-to-day administrative operation of the city. The mayor and commission (as a collegial body) are responsible for setting policy, approving the budget, and determining the tax rate. The Mayor serves as chair of the commission and represents the city at various functions.

The manager serves as the commission’s chief advisor and serves at the pleasure of the commission.  The city manager is responsible for preparing the budget, which is passed by the commission, directing day-to-day operations of the city, and the hiring and firing personnel.

Of the five commissioners, four serve 4-year terms, and one serves a 2-year term as mayor. Every two years, city elections are held for two of the 4-year seats and the 2-year mayor's seat.

The mayor of St. Augustine is the official head of the city government and presides at all commission meetings and other official city functions.

To see a list of the mayors of St. Augustine since 1821, click here.

<Return Home