More News

Florida Trust for Historic Preservation annual conference is an opportunity for local preservationists 

FlTrustLogoThe Florida Trust for Historic Preservation's annual conference is in Jacksonville this year which presents opportunities for St. Augustine's preservationist community to take advantage of dozens of seminars, specialized tours and a wide array of speakers.

Set for Thursday-Saturday, May 17-19, conference registration offers both packages and individual tickets.

Free sessions include the opening plenary on Thursday morning with the annual "11 to Save" list and the Preservation Awards Ceremony held Friday afternoon. Nationally recognized speakers Joseph McGill from the Slave Dwelling Project and James Lindberg from the National Trust's Preservation Green Lab will offer keynote sessions.

Included in the program are several presenters from St. Augustine: 

  • Dr. Kathleen Deagan, Distinguished Research Curator emeritus at the Florida Museum of Natural History; 
  • Carl D. Halbirt, City of St. Augustine Archaeologist (1990-2017); 
  • Thomas J. Jackson, St. Johns County Recreational Supervisor, African American historian and living history performer, and chair of the City of St. Augustine Confederate Monument Contextualization Committee; 
  • Sarah E. Miller, Director of the Florida Public Archaeology Network for Northeast and Central Regions; 
  • Robin Moore, archaeologist, St. Johns County Historic Resources Manager (2004-2016); 
  • Regina Gayle Phillips, Executive Director Lincolnville Museum, and member City of St. Augustine Confederate Monument Contextualization Committee; 
  • John P. Regan, P.E., St Augustine City Manager; and 
  • Jenny Wolfe, the St. Augustine Historic Preservation Officer.

A number of projects in St. Augustine have been nominated for preservation awards, and those attending the awards ceremony on Friday will be the first to learn the identity of the winners. For a complete schedule and registration information, visit