More News

City Commission Re-organizationed, Neville is new Vice Mayor

"At 7:30 p.m. on the first Monday in December following each regular municipal election, the city commission shall meet at the usual place for holding the meetings of the legislative body of the city, at which time the newly elected commissioners shall assume the duties of office."  (Art. V, Sec. 5.02 / Code of the City of St. Augustine)  Pictured (L to R): Commisioner Todd Neville, Commissioner Nancy Sikes-Kline, Mayor Nancy Shaver, Commissioner Leanna Freeman, and Vice Mayor Roxanne Horvath.

12/6/2016: As required, on Monday, December 5, at 7:30pm, the first Monday in December following a regular municipal election, the St. Augustine City Commission met for its organizational meeting in The Lightner Lobby at City Hall

During the meeting, each member of the Commission re-elected to new terms took the oath of office, administered by Charles J. Tinlin, County Court Judge, St. Johns County:

FreemanTWCommissioner Leanna Freeman, accompanied by Ms. Lana Dauth
HorvathTWCommissioner Roxanne Horvath, accompanied by Mr. Peter Rumpel
 ShaverTW2Mayor Nancy Shaver, accompanied by Mr. John Bennett.

Upon conclusion of the oaths of office, members selected Todd Neville to serve as Vice Mayor, the position held by Commissioner Roxanne Horvath for the last two years. 

On Monday December 12, the reorganized commission will hold its first regular meeting and the only one in December at the Fullerwood Traiing Center,  10 Hildreth Dr. while The Alcazar Room undergoes repair of damages caused by Hurricane Matthew.